Comes the Night

Isobelle Carmody

A brilliant new YA fantasy from the internationally acclaimed and bestselling author of the Obernewtyn Chronicles.

Glancing up through the torn opening in the roof, Will saw lightning flickering on the underside of some thunderheads outside the dome. It was only a holo illusion to go with the rain, but it looked real. He heard a footfall and looked down to see Adam step into the grainy brightness falling through the skylight.

Will Helloran is fifteen years old and lives with his father in the Canberra dome complex that protects its inhabitants from the corrosive atmosphere outside.

At night his dreams are haunted by his beloved uncle Adam who unexpectedly died in his sleep almost a year ago. As the nightmares grow increasingly more disturbing, Will comes to believe that his uncle’s death may have been suspicious – and he begins investigating as best he can with limited resources or clues.

Meanwhile, his best friend Ender is becoming concerned about her younger sister Magda’s behaviour. And when Magda disappears, Will is drawn into a secret bigger than he can imagine – and, if he and his friends are to survive, he must navigate his way out of the treacherous dreamscape while staying safe in the waking world as well.

An intriguing and intricate YA fantasy set in the near future, full of secrets and deceptions and risk from one of Australia’s best-loved storytellers.

Young Adult Fantasy

Isobelle Carmody

Isobelle Carmody is one of Australia’s most highly acclaimed authors of fantasy. At fourteen, she began Obernewtyn, the first book in her much-loved Obernewtyn Chronicles, and has since written many works in this genre. Her novel The Gathering was joint winner of the 1993 Children’s Literature Peace Prize and the 1994 CBCA Book of the Year Award, and Greylands was joint winner of the 1997 Aurealis Award for Excellence in Speculative Fiction (Young Adult category), and was named a White Raven at the 1998 Bologna Children’s Book Fair. Isobelle’s work for younger readers includes her two series, The Legend of Little Fur, and The Kingdom of the Lost, the first book of which, The Red Wind, won the CBCA Book of the Year Award for Younger Readers in 2011. She has also written several picture books as well as collections of short stories for children, young adults and adults.

Allen & Unwin

Allen & Unwin is Australia’s leading independent publisher and is the 2023 Publisher of the Year, a title we’ve now held fifteen times. Our lists are unrivalled in scope and quality, our focus on original ideas and voices, and our acclaimed authors and titles amongst Australia’s best.