Hysteria

Katerina Bryant

Katerina Bryant’s debut Hysteria is an astounding hybrid memoir exploring chronic mental illness and the treatment of women’s health throughout history.

When Katerina Bryant suddenly began experiencing chronic seizures, she was plunged into a foreign world of doctors and psychiatrists, who understood her condition as little as she did. Reacting the only way she knew how, she immersed herself in books, reading her way through her own complicated diagnosis and finding a community of women who shared similar experiences.

In the tradition of Siri Hustvedt’s The Shaking Woman, Bryant blends memoir with literary and historical analysis to explore women’s medical treatment. Hysteria retells the stories of silenced women, from the ‘Queen of Hysterics’ Blanche Whitmann to Mary Glover’s illness termed ‘hysterico passio’ – a panic attack caused by the movement of the uterus – in London in 1602 and more. By centring these stories of women who had no voice in their own diagnosis and treatment, Bryant finds her own voice: powerful, brave and resonant.

‘Hysteria is a timely and exciting work.

- – Fiona Wright

Release
Sep-2020
ISBN
9781742236773
RRP (AUD)
$29.99
Pages
208
Format
Paperback
Category
MEMOIR, PSYCHOLOGY

Katerina Bryant

KATERINA BRYANT is a writer based in South Australia.

NewSouth Publishing

NewSouth Publishing is the publishing division of UNSW Press Ltd, a leading Australian university press.