Inheritance

Genevieve Gannon

From the author of The Mothers comes a propulsive family drama that explores the possibilities and dangers of designing the perfect child.

In 2027, Emily is deciding whether to take advantage of a new health service that promises a healthier, stronger baby through gene editing. There’s plenty in her family tree that she would like to protect her unborn child against.

But not everybody loves the so-called designer baby technology.

Decades later, Adelaide is an ambitious political staffer trying to make a difference. Adelaide and her husband are working towards a goal they’ve called The Cyprus Project, but their plans risk being derailed when an unexpected threat looms.

Told across two generations, and two continents, Inheritance is about the legacies we leave our children, the bonds between mothers and daughters, and how it’s never too late to fix our mistakes.

Emotionally powerful, incredibly gripping and truly visionary.

- Tess Woods

Inheritance is a compelling, thought-provoking page-turner, set in a near future where the intersection between family, fertility and technology have grown ever-more complex. I read this book in a day and I'm still thinking about it weeks later. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult.

- Kelly Rimmer

This powerful, absorbing novel explores the complex ethics of designing the "perfect" child through the eyes of two very different women. Politics, science and generational trauma combine to create a perfect storm, blurring the lines between right and wrong. I inhaled Inheritance over a few days but the questions it raised will linger in my mind for a long time. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Audrey Niffenegger.

- Lauren Chater

Release
Sep-2024
ISBN
9780648618959
RRP (AUD)
$32.99
Pages
378
Format
Paperback & ebook
Category
Commercial fiction

Genevieve Gannon

Genevieve Gannon is an award-winning journalist based in Sydney. Over her 15-year career she has worked as a front-line reporter in Canberra, Melbourne and Sydney covering crime, health, social affairs and politics. She was the lead court reporter for Australian Associated Press and has been published in most major Australian newspapers. She is presently the senior journalist at The Australian Women’s Weekly where she is known for in-depth articles on issues relating to the health, rights and safety of women. She is the author of The Mothers and The Gifted Son.

Pantera Press

Pantera Press is a young and enthusiastic publisher of titles that spark imagination, conversation and change. We publish fiction, non-fiction, illustrated non-fiction and a growing list of children’s titles.

Inheritance
Rights
World
Rights Sold:
Audio
Contact
Katy McEwen
Email
Website