Inner and Outer Worlds

Anthony Uhlmann

Gail Jones is one of Australia’s foremost contemporary novelists. Her books
have won or been shortlisted for the Prime Minister’s Literary Award, the Miles
Franklin Award, the Stella Prize, and numerous state literary awards. They are
taught in high schools and universities across the country.

This collection of essays offers reflections on Jones’ fiction by leading Australian
and international literary critics. For readers who loved Sixty Lights, Five Bells,
Sorry and Jones’ other novels, and for students of Jones’ work, this book will be
an illuminating companion. With chapters on her use of language, her thematic
preoccupations, and her place in local and global literary culture, it is a timely
guide to the work of an exceptional Australian writer.

Release
Feb-2022
ISBN
9781743327791
RRP (AUD)
$45.00
Pages
192
Format
Paperback
Category
Literary studies

Anthony Uhlmann

Anthony Uhlmann is director of the Writing and Society Research Centre at Western Sydney University.

Sydney University Press

Sydney University Press is a not-for-profit, scholarly publisher of research-based books that engage, inspire and stimulate debate. We believe in the value of research, and the power of books to change the world. Our mission is to enable, support and facilitate the sharing of outstanding research.