The Weaver

Melanie Kanicky

In a remote village, bordered by woods and an endless winter, Saatcha lives in the attic of her ailing father’s blacksmithery. As her father’s health fades and he is no longer able to work, Saatcha takes it upon herself to keep the forge running.

But when a pair of thieves appear in the dead of night, Saatcha’s duty to her father is torn from her. Forced to leave her home behind, the bounds of magic that once held Saatcha begin to slip away.

Papa is gone.

Magic is real.

And her kidnappers are much more than simple thieves.

As Saatcha’s world is irrevocably altered, she must rely on her new friends to find the truth of her past – and what it might mean for the future of the kingdom.

An evil prince, monsters of ice and frost, and a girl who must find the power to change everything... a modern folk-tale in the vein of Novik’s Uprooted, The Weaver will draw you in and leave you hungry for more.

- Jo Spurrier, author of A Curse of Ash and Embers

Release
Oct-2023
ISBN
9781922858283
RRP (AUD)
$19.99
Pages
352
Format
Paperback
Category
YA Fiction

Melanie Kanicky

Melanie Kanicky is a Melbourne-based author. Her short fiction has appeared in the Wyndham Writing Awards Anthology and the Forty South Short Story Anthology, as well as being shortlisted for the 2022 Tasmanian Writers’ Prize. The Weaver is her first novel.

MidnightSun Publishing

MidnightSun Publishing is a small press based in Adelaide dedicated to finding new and unknown voices in Australia and overseas. We only publish books that we love, including picture books, middle grade novels and young adult fiction.