CBCA Book of the Year 2021 winners announced

CBCA Book of the Year 2021 winners announced

20 August, 2021

The winners of the 2021 Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Book of the Year Awards have been announced.

The winning titles and honour books in each category are:

Older readers: winner

The End of the World is Bigger than Love (Davina Bell, Text)

Older readers: honour books

Metal Fish, Falling Snow (Cath Moore, Text)
Where We Begin (Christie Nieman, Pan)

Younger readers: winner

Aster’s Good, Right Things (Kate Gordon, Riveted Press)

Younger readers: honour books

The Stolen Prince of Cloudburst (Jaclyn Moriarty, illus by Kelly Canby, A&U)
Worse Things (Sally Murphy, illus by Sarah Davis, Walker)

Early childhood: winner

No! Never! (Libby Hathorn & Lisa Hathorn-Jarman, illus by Mel Pearce, Lothian)

Early childhood: honour books

Anemone is not the Enemy (Anna McGregor, Scribble)
We Love You, Magoo (Briony Stewart, Puffin)

Picture books: winner

How to Make a Bird (Meg McKinlay, illus by Matt Ottley, Walker)

Picture books: honour books

Not Cute (Philip Bunting, Omnibus)
Your Birthday Was the Best! (Maggie Hutchings, illus by Felicita Sala, Affirm)

Eve Pownall Award for information books: winner

Dry to Dry: The Seasons of Kakadu (Pamela Freeman, illus by Liz Anelli, Walker)

Eve Pownall Award for information books: honour books

The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Dangerous Animals (Sami Bayly, Lothian)
Strangers on Country (David Hartley & Kirsty Murray, illus by Dub Leffler, NLA)

CBCA Award for new illustrators: winner

This Small Blue Dot (Zeno Sworder, Thames & Hudson).

The winners and honour books were chosen from shortlists announced in March.

For more information about the CBCA Awards, see the CBCA website.

Originally published by Books and Publishing (Read More)