UWA Publishing (UWAP) is Australia’s second-oldest University publishing house and is based in Perth, Western Australia and has been in operation since 1935. UWAP is dedicated to sharing stories, research and education with the world to encourage thought, inspire action and create and connect with engaged communities.

We publish a broad range of works from literary fiction, poetry, young adult and middle-grade novels, non-fiction, and scholarly works.

Publishing around 15 new titles per year we are proud to have many of our books recognised nationally and internationally through literary awards including the Miles Franklin Literary Award, the Stella Prize, the CBCAs, the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards, the Ned Kelly Awards, the Aurealis Awards and the Gourmand World Cookbook Awards.

UWAP is also home to the Dorothy Hewett Award. Run annually, the Dorothy Hewett Award provides one Australian author a publishing contract with UWAP and $10,000 courtesy of the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund for their unpublished fiction, poetry or narrative non-fiction manuscript. Past winners include Josephine Wilson, Kgshak Akec and Josh Kemp.

Browsing: UWA Publishing